What is Halal? Is ‘Halal’ for Muslims only?

In Islam, Halal is an Arabic term meaning “lawful or permissible” and not only encompasses food and drink, but all matters of daily life.

The quality of Halal food and other products attracts a variety of consumers all around the globe. Anyone regardless their faith, gender, ethnicity, nationality, race, age- can eat ‘Halal’ and lead a ‘Halal’ lifestyle.

With regards to the term “Halal” within the Food & Beverage Industry, it simply refers to anything permissible to consume.  If it is used in reference to animal meat, then it means any animal which has been slaughtered in accordance with the Shariah method is Halal (lawful) to consume.


Halal cheesecake

Halal Non-Meat Products:

The following is a partial list of Halal non-meat products that are subject to critical processes or ingredients that can affect the product’s Halal integrity.

Different Halal food items

  • Bread products
  • Cereals – breakfast, natural, and organic
  • Cheese, cheese products and coatings
  • Coffee mixes
  • Dairy Products – whipped toppings and drink mixes
  • Desserts – cakes and pastries
  • Eggs – powdered, frozen, and processed
  • Fish and Seafood
  • French Fries and Processed Potatoes
  • Fruits – fresh and/or dried
  • Grains
  • Honey
  • Ice Cream and Ice Cream Toppings
  • Jams and Jellies
  • Legumes and Nuts
  • Milk (from species considered Halal)
  • Pastry Items – frostings and coatings
  • Pastas

 

  • Peanut Butter
  • Pizzas
  • Plants (which are non-intoxicating)
  • Sauces and Dressings
  • Seasonings
  • Soup and Soup Base
  • Syrups – table and flavored
  • Tea Blends
  • Vegetables – fresh and frozen

Pharmaceuticals

Non-food items which may also be Halal certified:

  • Packaging
  • Protein Powders
  • Vitamins and Minerals
  • Soap
  • Perfume
  • Filter
  • Products made of rubber
  • Capsules, both pharmaceutical and vitamin
  • Cleaning Agents
  • Cosmetics
  • Hair color
  • Infused oil
  • Toothpaste
  • Mouthwash

Source